WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-22-2003, 02:11 PM
hotspur1 hotspur1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 54
networking

I was trying out the networking demo (viz_Duckwalk) which works just fine but when I tried writing my own script - basically te same script with a few different objects, I get an error message, saying that

TypeError: send() takes exactly 2 arguments (4 given)

As it's the same commands as the demo, I'm confused as to why it isn't working. I didn't get these errors with earlier versions of Vizard I had (1.096) - I am testing this with v2.08

Also, I occasionally get an error with the Window Title

Producer: Internal Error: Can't Set the PixelFormat
The parameter is incorrect

Then I get a bunch of errors 'detected OpenGl error 'invalid operation after applying attribute Viewport 00BD5050' or something like that. Then the program crashes with a dialog about accessing some memory location (typical windows error msg).

Thanks for any insight.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-22-2003, 03:40 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Hi,

The error you are getting leads me to believe that you are creating a MAILBOX object instead of a NETWORK object. Can you double check that you are calling
Code:
viz.add(viz.NETWORK,targetmachine)
and not
Code:
viz.addmail(targetmachine)
About the other errors, are you getting them in your networking script or a different one? Are these errors caused when you use a specific function or feature? Thanks for reporting these errors to us.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-25-2003, 08:49 AM
hotspur1 hotspur1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 54
Yes, using the viz.NETWORK flag did the trick. Is this a change from older versions (i.e., v1.08)? I was using an older script file as a template which used viz.MAILBOX.

I'll try to debug the other errors for more info
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-25-2003, 10:07 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Hi,

The old mailbox should work fine, but one thing to keep in mind is that with the old mailbox you can only send a single string to the other computer. With the newer Network object you can send an arbitrary amount of any data type (string,integer, floating point number). You were getting the error because you were trying to send more than one parameter to the mailbox, but it was expecting a single string. Hope this clears it up.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC