WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2012, 07:27 AM
pwsnow pwsnow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Apartment demo/texture demo

I hope someone can point me in the right direction, I've been searching for some time now to locate a Vizard demo.

The demo consisted on an apartment which was either one or two floors and you could change the texture of the wooden surfaces. The demo also had a video playing on a tv.

This demo also came with another demo of a station environment which had a train passing through every so often.

Does anyone know the file name of the demo or a download link for it?

Many thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2012, 09:23 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
I believe you are referring to the i-space architectural walk-throughs on our demo download page. It contains two condo environments and a train station environment.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-31-2012, 02:09 AM
pwsnow pwsnow is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Many thanks, I have re-downloaded them.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-02-2012, 06:36 AM
Kyman2008 Kyman2008 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
How is the video playing on a tv coded in vizard? I have been trying to apply the video I wish to play on a tv screen in my environment as a texture but the video file texture is not sizing down properly to be able to be seen on my tv screen.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-03-2012, 09:52 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,457
Maybe there is some issue with the texture coordinates of the tv screen. Do you see a difference if you apply the video to a texture quad instead?
Code:
quad  = viz.addTexQuad(pos=[0,2,5])
video = viz.addVideo('video.avi')
quad.texture(video)
video.play()
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-04-2012, 07:55 AM
Kyman2008 Kyman2008 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Yes I am able to see the video playing on a texture quad. Is my only option to find the coordinates of where I want the video to play (i.e. the coordinates of the TV i want to play the video on) and orient the texture quad there? Or is there an easier way?

Thanks so much for the quick reply this has been a headache!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-04-2012, 09:44 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,457
How was this model exported and created? If using Max, make sure the TV screen was exported with a placeholder texture. Otherwise there will be no texture coordinates assigned to it. Also can you post the relevant lines of code where you add the tv and apply the video to it?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-04-2012, 10:45 AM
Kyman2008 Kyman2008 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
The model was created and exported in Google Sketchup, here is the line of code. I added the model of the TV as a seperate object (it is in a bigger room that was added as a seperate model)

###Add Video Playing on 2nd Level TV###

quad = viz.addChild('TV.dae', viz.TEXQUAD)
quad.scale(1.27, 0.66, 8.399)



video = viz.add('After_Visit.wmv', viz.TEX_RECT)
quad.texture(video)
video.play()
video.loop()

# make screen a little less vibrant
quad.alpha(.9)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-04-2012, 10:45 AM
Kyman2008 Kyman2008 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
I have tried getting the TV's coordinates with the getPosition command but it keeps returning 0,0,0 when this is certainly not the case
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-04-2012, 01:04 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,457
Have you tried exporting the tv model with a texture applied to it? If that does not work can you attach the model to this thread or upload here for us to look at?

From the code you posted there is no position specified when the model is added to the world. If you're using the getPosition command with that it will return [0,0,0].
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-05-2012, 10:10 AM
Kyman2008 Kyman2008 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Well what I did was create a large google sketchup model and this TV is in this model. I then made the TV a seperate object to export to vizard by hiding everything else in the model except the TV and then exporting this "new model" (entire model hiding except TV). I also exported the large model minus the TV to vizard in a seperate file. Therefore the TV is a modifiable object in Vizard while retaining it's location in my original model. I did this so I wouldn't have to mess with the set postion command in vizard to place the TV where I wanted it in my model
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
changing paintings of art gallery demo Frank Verberne Vizard 1 05-06-2008 09:24 AM
PPT Demo mikestatic Precision Position Tracker (PPT) 1 09-23-2007 10:31 AM
demo of new hand.getFingerTip() halley Vizard 9 12-14-2006 12:40 AM
Stereo cubemap demo is missing some pictures Vbents Vizard 1 08-23-2006 05:42 PM
using demo with intersense G-Chan Vizard 1 02-06-2006 02:05 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC