WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-20-2003, 10:20 AM
hotspur1 hotspur1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 54
windows and viewpoints

Is there a limit to the number of windows/viewpoints (of the same scene) that I can display at once? I might have a need for as many as a dozen views!

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2003, 10:30 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Hi,

There is a hard-coded limit to how many windows and views you can have, but we can easily change it to accomodate your needs. How many windows are you planning on using?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2003, 10:56 AM
hotspur1 hotspur1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 54
I think that 12 would be a suitable number to use. Although I wouldn't be using an extremely complex environment, I imagine that performance, in terms of frame rate, would go down the more windows I have running (?).

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-20-2003, 11:01 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Hi,

If you have 12 windows then Vizard will have to render the scene 12 times per frame. If your scene isn't complex then this shouldn't cause a big slowdown. I just modified Vizard to allow up to 20 windows and views. Do you need this immediately or can you wait for the next release?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-20-2003, 12:46 PM
hotspur1 hotspur1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 54
That's great - I can wait for the next release.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-25-2003, 02:20 PM
hotspur1 hotspur1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 54
trouble with v2.09 and windows

I'm having trouble running the viz_windows.py demo script with v2.09 - I get an error in parsing the file that

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<string>", line 2, in ?
File "viz_windows.py", line 26, in ?
UpperLeftWindow.setposition(0, 380)
AttributeError: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'setposition'

Somehow it doesn't seem to initialize the wondow object properly. Any hints?

Also, say I am running in 1280x1024 mode and I open 4 windows each sized 640x480. Am I still rendering 5 scenes, even thoug hone of them (the main one) is occluded?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-25-2003, 03:36 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Hi,

The windows and viewpoints features was just added to vizard 2.10, so older versions of vizard 2.0x won't be able to run that example.

The main window will always be rendered, even if it is occluded. If you don't plan on using the main window simply set the scene for the main window to an empty scene so there is nothing to be rendered.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC