WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2009, 09:38 AM
sjp sjp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
intersense with 5DT glove

I tried connecting my 5DT glove to my system to run the turbine demo, but can't seem to get the system to recognize the intersense connected to the glove. I'm almost positive that this worked last time I tried (months, maybe years ago).

The glove intersense port is the same one I've always used (port 3), and I'm pretty sure I hooked up all of the cables correctly. The intersense from the HMD can't be interfering somehow, can it? I can't remember ever having to disconnect it.

Here's my error message (I realize that this time it also didn't connect to PPT, but I'm not having that problem anymore); any thoughts? Thanks!

************************************************** ****************************
** Loading engine_grab.py
************************************************** ****************************
Loading File: groundgrid.wrl
intersense.dls Intersense Driver v2.1
vizppt.dls WorldViz PPT v3.0
5dt.dls 5DT Glove Driver v1.0
** ERROR: Failed to connect to intersense on port 3.
PPT: cannot open serial port: No such file or directory
** ERROR: Failed to connect to PPT
** NOTIFY: Connected to 5DT DG5 Ultra USB on USB0
Loading File: hand.cfg
** WARNING: <node>.spin will be deprecated in future versions of Vizard, use vizact.spin instead
Loading File: frontshell.ive
Loading File: frontfan.ive
Loading File: backfan.ive
Loading File: backshell.ive
Loading File: pipes.ive
Loading File: frontfan.ive
Loading File: backfan.ive
Loading File: backshell.ive
Loading File: pipes.ive
Loading File: frontshell.ive
Loading File: hand.cfg
** Load Time: 1.47 seconds
Scaling image 'images\nosecone.tga' from (295,295) to (256,256)
InterSense Library ver. 4.04 32-bit
Copyright 1998-2007 InterSense Inc.
http://www.intersense.com
Tel: 781-541-6330

Looking for InterSense tracking device number 1.
Please wait
InterSense tracker not present
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2009, 05:45 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,455
What happens when you just try a simple script connecting to the intersense. If you look through the device manager you'll see which COM ports are available. Verifiy that you have a COM port 3 and set the PORT_INTERSENSE variable to 3 before you add the intersense
Code:
import viz
viz.go()

PORT_INTERSENSE = 3
isense = viz.add('intersense.dls')
If that does not work and you have other COM ports showing up try changing the PORT_INTERSENSE variable to the other values.

If you are still not able to connect check to see that you can connect to your intersense software.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-2009, 07:22 AM
sjp sjp is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks. When I went back and connected the glove a second time, the intersense inexplicably worked. I'll see how it goes for now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
data glove navigation arielasso Vizard 6 10-24-2007 02:15 PM
Use of 5DT Ultra left handed glove pattie Vizard 1 08-26-2006 12:59 PM
5DT Data Glove 5 Ultra Problem bjgold Vizard 1 08-08-2006 04:08 PM
using demo with intersense G-Chan Vizard 1 02-06-2006 02:05 PM
intersense orientation jargon Vizard 2 05-14-2005 04:55 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC