WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2011, 12:55 AM
vEsotu vEsotu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Phantom, Vizard 3.0, OpenHaptics 3.0

Hi,

I'm currently working on a follow up study for the code in this post:

http://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=1134

And I'm getting the following error in which Vizard is failing to load my plug-in:

Quote:
** ERROR: Failed to load plug-in: 'hd.dlm'
File "<string>", line 11, in ?
File "MOF_Colorblind_Version16_Subject.py", line 211, in ?
hd_obj = hd.get(hd.TOUCH_OBJECT) # object that the haptic device is dragging
File "C:\Program Files\WorldViz\Vizard30\python\hd.py", line 231, in get
return _gettouchobject_(0)
File "C:\Program Files\WorldViz\Vizard30\python\hd.py", line 215, in _gettouchobject_
touchID = _hd_.get()[0]
IndexError: list index out of range
I went through several tests with loading "hd.dlm" and "hd2.dlm" (I also made sure they were in the plug-ins folder under Vizard 3.0.

In addition, I've tried numerous times reinstalling the OpenHaptics 3.0 and PDD drivers. For some reason, I am able to run my code on a personal laptop (which has Vizard 3.0 and OpenHaptics 3.0 on a Windows 7 32-bit system), but I cannot run the same code on a lab computer (which has Vizard 3.0 and OpenHaptics 3.0 on a Windows 7 64-bit system).

I know the Haptic Device is plugged in and working because it runs through the Phantom Configuration and Test programs just fine.

So, I was wondering if maybe Vizard does not support OpenHaptics 3.0 on a 64 bit system or if there is some other low-level magic I am unaware of that may be causing Vizard's failure to read the plug-in?

I'd appreciate any help you can provide!

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2011, 10:12 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
The Vizard SensAble plug-in was built using OpenHaptics 2.0, so it will not work with OpenHaptics 3.0.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2011, 09:04 PM
vEsotu vEsotu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 12
Thanks for the clarification, Farshizzo.

I'm still perplexed by the situation then. As I said before, the code runs smoothly on my personal laptop (no errors in locating the "hd.dlm" file), but when I run on my lab's desktop (which has a similar set up to my laptop) Vizard cannot detect the hd.dlm file.

The only differences I can note from both setups include the following:

Laptop:
32-bit Windows 7 system
Lite-Edition of Vizard 3.0
Visual Studio 2010

Desktop:
64-bit Windows 7 system
Trial version of Developer's edition of Vizard 3.0
Visual Studio 2005 (seems necessary to have according to the OpenHaptics support section on Sensable's site)

Is there anything else I might want to look into more to determine a solution to this issue? Or is there any other kind of information I can provide you to help me detect the hd.dlm file?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Realistic Light and Shadows Using Vizard and 3DS Max jde Vizard 4 07-13-2012 10:58 AM
.3DS importing in Vizard and 3D Studio jde Vizard 1 08-28-2009 03:14 PM
Vizard tech tip: Using the Python Imaging Library (PIL) Jeff Vizard 0 03-23-2009 11:13 AM
Vizard tech tip: Text to Speech Jeff Vizard 1 01-15-2009 09:39 PM
SenseAble Phantom set up with Vizard jfreeman Vizard 1 06-01-2005 10:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC