WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2011, 03:23 PM
pkhoosh pkhoosh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to pkhoosh Send a message via Yahoo to pkhoosh
connecting to SMI iViewX running a RED tracker

Hi,

I followed the hardware reference for connecting to the SMI eye tracker using iViewX, but there are no changes to the XY pupil position that I'm printing in Vizard. I'm assuming the values it prints should change a little because my is moving. It just prints [0.0, 1.0, 0.0] for the normalized data (and [0 1023 0] for the raw pixel value). A related question: Why is the output a 3 element vector (and not just two for the XY?)?

Let me describe our setup. We have the SMI laptop that runs iView X (address= 192.168.10.1, port=4444).

We have another computer running Vizard (address=192.168.10.7, port=5555) and the SMI Experiment Center (to which we need to connect for the study; we configure this with remote interface 2 in iViewX).

According to the Vizard help instructions, I setup the hardware section of iViewX to communicate to remote interface 1 via Ethernet. The iViewX network config is set to listen to 192.168.10.1 (port 4444), which is the laptop running iViewX, and send UDP packets to 192.168.10.7, which is the Vizard computer. According to the Vizard reference, I set the port value for both listening and sending as 4444 (the iView laptop). (What's the logic behind that?)

Am I missing something? The tracker is a RED4 using FireWire.

pete
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2011, 05:20 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,467
Can you post an example script you've tested with?

Are you getting the data within the SMI Experiment Center?

Do you have any firewalls/virus scanners enabled?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-2011, 11:32 AM
pkhoosh pkhoosh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to pkhoosh Send a message via Yahoo to pkhoosh
I am using Experiment Center to collect the data, but it is actually getting the raw eye data from the dedicated laptop running iView.

I have everything (iView laptop, Experiment Center desktop, Biopac, and Biopac recording laptop) running through a network switch and they are all communicating fine so there's no firewall issue.

Code:
# data aggregation of Eye tracking from SMI and synching with Biopac recording channels

smi = viz.add('smi.dle')

tracker = smi.addEyeTracker(address='192.168.10.1', port=4444)

while 1:
	print tracker.getPosition(smi.PIXELS)	
	print 'Calibration size:',tracker.getCalibrationSize() 
end
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-2011, 11:51 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,467
Are your results any different if you get the data in a timer function?
Code:
def showData():
	print tracker.getPosition(smi.PIXELS)	
	print 'Calibration size:',tracker.getCalibrationSize() 
	
vizact.ontimer(0,showData)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-20-2011, 11:57 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Does your script output any error messages when adding the eye tracker? What version if iView X are you running? The plugin is based on the the network protocol defined in version 2.1.14.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-20-2011, 12:32 PM
pkhoosh pkhoosh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to pkhoosh Send a message via Yahoo to pkhoosh
Jeff, when I use the timer, I don't get any results. I'm not sure why there is no output because the timer should lead to the same behavior as the continuous while loop.

I'm using iView 2.7 build 9 (2011). I just checked the release notes and v 2.1 is from 2008.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-20-2011, 12:37 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Can you post the entire contents of the script you are running? Also, would you mind emailing me the iView X CHM help file? It should contain information about the remote command network interface. My email is lashkari@worldviz.com.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-20-2011, 01:07 PM
pkhoosh pkhoosh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to pkhoosh Send a message via Yahoo to pkhoosh
Here's the script again, now using timers instead of the while.
I sent you the CHM file.

Code:
# data aggregation of Eye tracking from SMI and synching with Biopac recording channels

smi = viz.add('smi.dle')

tracker = smi.addEyeTracker(address='192.168.10.1', port=4444)

def showData():
	print tracker.getPosition(smi.PIXELS)	
	print 'Calibration size:',tracker.getCalibrationSize() 
	

vizact.ontimer(0,showData)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-20-2011, 02:44 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
If that's your entire script, then nothing will be output since you are not creating the main graphics window using viz.go(). Try running this script:
Code:
# data aggregation of Eye tracking from SMI and synching with Biopac recording channels
import viz
import vizact
viz.go()

smi = viz.add('smi.dle')

tracker = smi.addEyeTracker(address='192.168.10.1', port=4444)

def showData():
	print tracker.getPosition(smi.PIXELS)	
	print 'Calibration size:',tracker.getCalibrationSize() 
	

vizact.ontimer(0,showData)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-20-2011, 03:01 PM
pkhoosh pkhoosh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to pkhoosh Send a message via Yahoo to pkhoosh
I added those lines and am now outputting the same thing that I was getting with the while loop.

Namely,

[0.0, 1023.0, 0.0]
Calibration size: (1280,1024)
....
[0.0, 1023.0, 0.0]
Calibration size: (1280,1024)

Again, I'm not getting any errors when adding the SMI.dle
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-20-2011, 04:02 PM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
Does the iView program show that the gaze position is changing? It appears Vizard is connecting properly to the iView program since it is receiving a valid calibration size. So if the position is not changing within Vizard, then either iView is sending the same data values or not sending any data values at all.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-20-2011, 04:17 PM
pkhoosh pkhoosh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to pkhoosh Send a message via Yahoo to pkhoosh
Yes, iView shows changing position.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eyetracking, iview, smi

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intersense wand and Head tracker blessonisaac Vizard 0 01-10-2011 03:39 PM
The problem of tracker using via VRPN _kj_ Vizard 2 08-13-2009 12:03 AM
Simple Head Tracker PHart Vizard 1 05-10-2009 05:35 PM
Interface with Tobii Eye Tracker Uttama_vizard Precision Position Tracker (PPT) 1 12-12-2007 11:31 AM
Problems running R3 and R2.5 on the same computer cade_mccall Vizard 5 09-05-2006 11:26 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC