WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Spin around one point (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=2809)

Ellen 06-30-2010 01:26 AM

Spin around one point
 
Hey there,

I´ve a problem spinning the ear of a rabbit.
My animation should be similar to this video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m10h7nXSZ_g

But because I´m not familiar with programming, the ears leave the body of the rabit when they spin :( I tried to find some solution like "spinning an object around a specific point" but I didn´t find one.

My unsatisfying solution until know looks like this:

Quote:


turnAround = vizact.spin(1,0,0,200,30)

Ear1.addAction(turnAround)
Ear2.addAction(turnAround)

p.s.: Body and ears were all single objects which I positioned in a room

Can someone please help me?

THANKs

Ellen 06-30-2010 02:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ellen (Post 10297)
Hey there,

I´ve a problem spinning the ear of a rabbit.
My animation should be similar to this video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m10h7nXSZ_g

But because I´m not familiar with programming, the ears leave the body of the rabit when they spin :( I tried to find some solution like "spinning an object around a specific point" but I didn´t find one.

My unsatisfying solution until know looks like this:



p.s.: Body and ears were all single objects which I positioned in a room

Can someone please help me?

THANKs

Just to let you know, I also tried it with a path:

Quote:

path = viz.add(viz.ANIMATION_PATH)
positions = [ [0,0,0], [0.2,0,0], [0.4,0,0], [0.6,0,0]]

for x in range(0,len(positions)):
Ear1.setPosition(positions[x])
cp = viz.add(viz.CONTROL_POINT)
cp.setPosition(positions[x])
path.add(cp,x+1)

path.loop(viz.LOOP)
path.setAutoRotate(viz.ON)

Ear1.link(path)
path.play()
but this is also not what I expected

tobin 07-01-2010 11:36 AM

The issue relates to your sub-object's center point not being where you expect. If you use 3DS Max to create your geomoetry, you'll find this KB article very helpful:

http://kb.worldviz.com/articles/1157

Ellen 07-01-2010 11:14 PM

I´m not using Max until know, because I´m not the creator of the 3D Model. But I´ll try. The links seems very helpful. Thank you very much. I let you know if it was successful ;)


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:23 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC