WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Trouble picking text3d objects (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=3102)

Salvar 11-30-2010 12:58 PM

Trouble picking text3d objects
 
Hello.

I am currently working on a Vizard project where a bunch of text3d objects are floating around in space, and the user can navigate forwards and backwards through the space. When a valid object is picked with the mouse, viz.window.displayHTML is called with a particular value.

The problem is, picking objects seems to be incredibly finicky. I'm not sure if it's just because it's text3d objects or if picking 3d objects is always like this, but I need to click the same object something like 1-20 times in different places to register a valid object pick.

Are text3d objects like swiss cheese?

Jeff 12-01-2010 11:32 AM

Each letter and the bounding box area around each letter can be picked. If you are outside that bounding box or between letters the pick won't register.

If you want to be able to pick in between letters you could create a quad, place it near the text, and hide it. Then you could check if that get's picked:
Code:

import viz
import vizact

viz.go()

viz.clearcolor(viz.SKYBLUE)

text = viz.addText('Pick Me',pos = [-1.5,1.5,5])

size = text.getBoundingBox(viz.REL_LOCAL).size

quad = viz.addTexQuad(parent=text)
quad.setPosition(size[0]/2,size[1]/2,-.01)
quad.setScale(size[0],size[1])
quad.alpha(0.2)

vizact.onpick(quad,viz.logNotice,'You picked the text')

viz.mouse(viz.OFF)


Salvar 12-01-2010 12:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeff (Post 11199)
Each letter and the bounding box area around each letter can be picked. If you are outside that bounding box or between letters the pick won't register.

If you want to be able to pick in between letters you could create a quad, place it near the text, and hide it. Then you could check if that get's picked:
Code:

import viz
import vizact

viz.go()

viz.clearcolor(viz.SKYBLUE)

text = viz.addText('Pick Me',pos = [-1.5,1.5,5])

size = text.getBoundingBox(viz.REL_LOCAL).size

quad = viz.addTexQuad(parent=text)
quad.setPosition(size[0]/2,size[1]/2,-.01)
quad.setScale(size[0],size[1])
quad.alpha(0.2)

vizact.onpick(quad,viz.logNotice,'You picked the text')

viz.mouse(viz.OFF)


Thanks for the reply.

I had that idea myself actually, but that created another problem. As clicking on the text object runs a function that parses the text, finds a URL, and loads it on the screen, I had the problem of referencing the parent text object when I click not the text object, but the quad "underneath".

Say in your example, how could you access the getMessage() method of the parent? I've tried a lot of things but I'm probably just missing the right one.

Jeff 12-01-2010 01:47 PM

You could modify the code with the following:
Code:

def onQuadPick():
        textParent = quad.getParents()[0]
        viz.logNotice(textParent.getMessage())
       
vizact.onpick(quad,onQuadPick)


Salvar 12-01-2010 03:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeff (Post 11202)
You could modify the code with the following:
Code:

def onQuadPick():
        textParent = quad.getParents()[0]
        viz.logNotice(textParent.getMessage())
       
vizact.onpick(quad,onQuadPick)


Thank you very much sir, my problem is solved. It was the getparents()[0] and addTexQuad(parent=text) that I was looking for.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:50 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC