WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Using VRPN and INtersense to Connect Computer A with Computer B (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=5362)

vlc 06-01-2015 09:56 AM

Using VRPN and INtersense to Connect Computer A with Computer B
 
Hello,

I have an IS-900 connected to Computer A and running Vizard. Computer B is not connected to IS-900 but does run Vizard. Is there a way (maybe through VRPN) that allows computer B to connect to the IS-900 which is connected to computer A?

Jeff 06-02-2015 10:53 AM

Can you describe the setup and what you're trying to accomplish? You could send data from one Vizard app to another using a VRPN server or network commands but there will be added latency.

vlc 06-02-2015 11:00 AM

Hi Jeff,

Computer A has the IS900, however I want Computer B to be able to connect to the tracker on the IS900 using VRPN. I know that you mentioned in other posts how to create the stream, but my question is: how do you actually obtain the data from the stream. If Computer A has the VRPN stream running, how would I get that data from the stream using computer B. Does that make sense?

Jeff 06-02-2015 02:49 PM

Here's an example using a keyboard tracker.

Server Code:

Code:

'''
Press the wasd keys to move the tracker
'''

import viz
import vizcam
import vizinfo
import vizact
viz.go()

vizinfo.InfoPanel()

vrpn = viz.add('vrpn7.dle')
server = vrpn.addTrackerServer('VizardTracker')
tracker = vizcam.addKeyboardPos()
server.setTracker(tracker)

def printData():
        print tracker.getPosition()
       
vizact.onupdate(0,printData)

Client Code:

Code:

'''
Press the wasd keys in the server window to
move the axes model here in the client
'''

import viz
import vizshape
import vizinfo

viz.go()

vizinfo.InfoPanel()

viz.move([0,0,-6])
viz.addChild('sky_day.osgb')
axes = vizshape.addAxes()

vrpn = viz.add('vrpn7.dle')
tracker = vrpn.addTracker('VizardTracker@localhost')
viz.link(tracker,axes)


vlc 06-03-2015 01:44 PM

Thanks a lot, Jeff. Was able to make it work through a wired connection. Do you happen to know if I could try doing this via wireless connection? I tried doing it with the IP Address but that doesn't seem to help. I tried doing @IPADDRESS instead of @hostname.

Jeff 06-05-2015 03:33 PM

VRPN data can be sent over a wireless connection. The code should be the same for either a wired or wireless setup.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:24 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC