WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Help with Vizard crashes... (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=476)

vanier 01-09-2006 10:41 AM

Help with Vizard crashes...
 
Hello, can someone look at this and tell us why we are crashing. If we run the script for too long it will most likely crash and if we close it, it crashes for sure.

Thanks for your help,

Luc, Evan and Chris.

viz.go()

PORT_PPT = 4

viz.clearcolor(1,1,1)
#viz.add('tut_ground.wrl')
#ball = viz.add('white_ball.wrl')
#ball.translate(0,2,5)
ppt = viz.add('vizppt.dls')
ppt2 = viz.add('vizppt.dls')
ppt3 = viz.add('vizppt.dls')
ball.link(ppt2)

#the following modifies the model's appearance
toon = viz.add('toon.dlm')
ball.modify(toon)

def ontimer(num):
data = ppt.get()
#this one will make the model slowly transform
#ball.size(data[0],data[1],data[2])
#this one makes the model quickly scale
ball.scale(data[0],data[1],data[2])
pos = ppt3.get()
ball.lookat(pos,0,viz.ABSOLUTE_WORLD)

#ppt.command(4.002) # Scales all by 2.0


viz.callback(viz.TIMER_EVENT, ontimer)
viz.starttimer(1,viz.FASTEST_EXPIRATION, viz.FOREVER)

freeman1 01-12-2006 02:08 PM

Hi Luc,

There seems nothing to be obviously wrong with your script that should make the system crash, other than the indentation after the timer, which was probably stripped out by copy/paste

PHP Code:

def ontimer(num): 
    
data ppt.get() 
    
#this one will make the model slowly transform 
    #ball.size(data[0],data[1],data[2]) 
    #this one makes the model quickly scale 
    
ball.scale(data[0],data[1],data[2]) 
    
pos ppt3.get() 
    
ball.lookat(pos,0,viz.ABSOLUTE_WORLD

Other than that, the ball you are referring to in line 16 was not defined previously, so you will need to uncomment

ball = viz.add('white_ball.wrl')

in line 7.

When running your script here with a PPT connected sending the position data of 3 points, the script runs fine and stable.
Is it possible that there are problems with Vizard due to your graphics card / computer configuration? Please make sure you use the latest graphics card drivers, update if necessary.
Also check if there are other USB devices connected to the computer that could cause problems.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC