WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Quicktime movie with transparency channel (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=1227)

aaThomas 09-25-2007 08:42 AM

Quicktime movie with transparency channel
 
Hi,

I am trying to make avatars by using a 'blue screen' technique:
* Filming people in front of a plain (white) background.
* Making the white parts transparent.
* Exporting the movie as Quicktime with a transparency channel.
* The movies are 256x256 pixels and 512x512 pixels.
* In Vizard, I use the movie as a texture on a quad.

Well, using 'Quicktime Alternative', I have gotten the movies to play, but the transparency does not work out. Do you have any suggestions on how to solve this?

farshizzo 09-25-2007 11:17 AM

The current version of Vizard does not support alpha videos. It will be supported in the next release though. If you want me to test out your video to make sure it will work in the next release, you can send email it to me at lashkari@worldviz.com

aaThomas 09-27-2007 08:03 AM

Too bad, but thanks for the reply!

I'll send you a 64x64 movie for testing purposes. Meanwhile I'm looking for alternative solutions:
* When do you (roughly) think that a version of Vizard will be released that supports quicktime + transparency?
* Is there any development in the support of animated gifs? http://www.worldviz.com/forum/showth...highlight=gifs

farshizzo 09-27-2007 09:32 AM

We plan on having a new release of Vizard within a month. There are no plans to support animated gifs.

aaThomas 10-25-2007 08:31 AM

Hi again. Now that the new release of Vizard is out, I've been enjoying the quicktime movies with transparency - it works like a charm!

Though it wasn't planned, the release notes mention that animated GIF's are supported as well. http://www.worldviz.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1243

So I've been trying to get an animated GIF (with transparency) to play, but that didn't really work out. The animated GIF shows only the first frame (it doesn't animate). The function play() does not work with a GIF texture.

Have you got any ideas on how to get my GIF to animate?

farshizzo 10-25-2007 09:28 AM

You need to add the animated GIF as a video texture, not a normal texture. Example:
Code:

gif = viz.addVideo('animated.gif')
gif.play()


aaThomas 11-12-2007 06:46 AM

Hi again! Lately I've been enjoying both Quicktime and GIF. When using a looped GIF as a video texture, I've noticed the following: After the (looped) GIF returns to the first frame, the frame-counter is not reset. Thus, after the GIF has looped, the value returned by getFrame() is larger than the value returned by getFrameCount().

Could be a bug, could be a feature... :-)

farshizzo 11-12-2007 09:54 AM

I noticed the same problem here. Even the frame time is never reset. I believe this is a bug in Microsofts DirectShow filter. As a workaround you can use the mod operator to get the actual frame number.
Code:

frame = video.getFrame() % video.getFrameCount()


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC