WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   sky box (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=309)

exhale 03-15-2005 02:58 AM

sky box
 
hello,

currently i'm having issues with adding
a sky-box.
i tried following, but all i get is a gray sky:
env = viz.add(viz.ENVIRONMENT_MAP,'maps/sky.jpg')
(also tried viz.WORLD here)
sky = viz.add('skydome.dlc')
sky.texture(env)

and another :
skydome = viz.add('skydome.dlc',0,'',0,0,0,0,viz.WORLD)
skydome.texture(env)

to no avail. Sorry for all the questions,
pretty newbie here, but once i get rolling :)

greetz,

Kevin

farshizzo 03-15-2005 11:06 AM

The first method should work, assuming the texture exists. The command
Code:

env = viz.add(viz.ENVIRONMENT_MAP,'maps/sky.jpg')
will attempt to load 6 files named:

'maps/sky_posx.jpg'
'maps/sky_posy.jpg'
'maps/sky_posz.jpg'
'maps/sky_negx.jpg'
'maps/sky_negy.jpg'
'maps/sky_negz.jpg'

Ensure that these files exist. Check the resource toolbar on the left side of your script. There should be an item that represents the environment map. Expand it and it will notify you if any textures are missing.

If the textures exists and you still have this problem then your graphics card might not support cube maps.

exhale 03-16-2005 12:34 AM

hi,

textures were located fine,
apparently my graphic card doesnt support it. On my colleague's computer
there was some tearing of the sky,
but that computer uses intel chip.

Anyway currently i'm waiting for the
new workstation with a
nvidia quadro fx card to arrive, then
this issue will be solved.

thanks for the info,

greets,
Kevin

farshizzo 03-16-2005 12:34 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I've included a modified version of the skybox plugin that should work for cards without cubemap support. Place the contents of the zip file into the same directory as your script, or replace the existing plugin in the [Vizard25]\plug-ins directory.

To create a non-cubemapped skybox use the following example code:
Code:

sky = viz.add('skydome.dlc',1,'maps/sky.jpg')
You don't need to add an environment map. Let me know if this works.

exhale 03-17-2005 12:32 AM

Hello,

i tested the file, and this works great :D
Maybe you should include it in
the release? :)

thanks! greets,

Kevin

farshizzo 03-17-2005 03:47 PM

I just modified it yesterday, so it will be in the next release. When you get your new graphics card you can still use this plugin with the old syntax to use cubemaps.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC