WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Sending models over network (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=6288)

josephredfern 10-02-2019 04:35 AM

Sending models over network
 
Hi,

I have an experiment that I am running with a HMD and Backpack PC. I'd like to be able to control and monitor certain aspects of this experiment from a separate machine.

I'm able to synchronise viewpoints and send messages between the Backpack PC and the controller PC, but I am stuck at how to copy objects (specifically, shapes) from the Backpack PC scene to the controller scene (or vis-versa). The object does not represent the full properties of the shape (for instance, getPosition() and getBoundingBox() are all 0's), and I cannot make the object appear in the scene on the controller machine.

I could manually extract the properties of the shape from the Backpack PC vizard instance, send them over and re-create them, but it would be far more convenient to be able to send them over the network.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Joe

Jeff 10-02-2019 07:19 PM

If you're adding objects at run time on one machine and want to copy those objects to another networked machine, you will need to pass data that describes the object (shape type, position, orientation etc.) and recreate it there. I don't think you'll be able to send the node3D object directly. If you have an Enterprise license and are running on a local network, you could use collaboration instead.

josephredfern 10-28-2019 05:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeff (Post 20156)
If you're adding objects at run time on one machine and want to copy those objects to another networked machine, you will need to pass data that describes the object (shape type, position, orientation etc.) and recreate it there. I don't think you'll be able to send the node3D object directly. If you have an Enterprise license and are running on a local network, you could use collaboration instead.

Hi Jeff,

Thanks for your answer. It would be really handy if there was a way of sending over node3D objects; but I've resorted to the shape/position/orientation description approach instead which is working well (and probably saves some bandwidth!).

Thanks,
Joe


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC