WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Use Vizard 2.5 with Python 2.4.1 / IDLE 1.1.1 (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=381)

Gilliard 07-20-2005 03:10 AM

Use Vizard 2.5 with Python 2.4.1 / IDLE 1.1.1
 
We are evaluating Vizard 2.5 and want to use it with Python 2.4.1 and the IDE "IDLE 1.1.1 " ( instead of the build-in "2.3.3 (#51, Dec 18 2003, 20:22:39" ) loaded from the Python web site.

Reason : The debugger is well integrated in the IDLE
Problem : An error occurs because of incompatibility of a DLL when vis.py tries to import win32process

Error message :

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "D:\Temp\movieEyes.py", line 8, in -toplevel-
import viz
File "C:\Program Files\Vizard25\viz.py", line 16, in -toplevel-
import win32process
ImportError: Module use of python23.dll conflicts with this version of Python.
>>>

(I am estonished not to find a "pythonXX.dll" in the directory tree of Python241)

- Is it possible to solve this conflict , and if yes, how ?

Thanks for your help !

farshizzo 07-21-2005 10:35 AM

Hi,

Vizard is compiled with Python 2.3, so it will only work with this version. Is there a version of IDLE that works with Python 2.3 that you can use?

Gilliard 07-22-2005 03:02 AM

:( Thanks for the info, but it does'nt work :
I have installed Python 2.3 (which comes with its IDLE version 1.0)
and added the pathes into C:\Python23\Lib\site-packages, than run the program, but it fails to run with the message
"** WARNING: Your script failed to run, press any key to exit"

Reason : (found with the debgger) : Program exit in viz.py at line 1404 :

#If vizard is embedded then we need to exit right away
#so that multiple windows are not created
if mode & EMBEDDED:
sys.exit()

called from the first line of my program which is
viz.go(viz.STEREO)

Is there a hope to go arround this problem ?

(I would be interrested too to use the Integrated Developpement tool of Wingware "Wing IDE" (http://wingware.com) , at least a system where debugging (step-by-step etc) is available, as in IDLE with Python 2.3 or 2.4)

farshizzo 08-04-2005 01:36 PM

Hi,

Sorry for the delay, I've been at a conference all week. I was able to run Vizard scripts with IDLE, but I had to make a small change. The next version will include this change. I could also send you a patch if you wanted.

There might be a problem though. You mentioned that you wanted to use IDLE because it had a debugger. This won't work because of the way Vizard works. As you already found out from the previous post, Vizard runs the script once to detect any high-level errors then passes it on to the graphics process which actually runs the script. So the debugger won't be able to detect error that occur outside the global scope of the script (i.e callback and timer code).

There is a way to debug Vizard scripts but it works throught the command line. I will try to find some python modules that allow debugging using a graphical interface.

Anyway, let me know if you would like the patch.

Gilliard 08-04-2005 11:49 PM

Thanks a lot for the answer. it's not a good info, that the debugger will not work !
NO THANK YOU, don't loose more time; I don't need the patch for now, we will buy Vizard with the maintenance, and I hope this new version will be delivered early enough for our needs.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC