WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Creating occluder nodes in .ive file (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=1744)

dtidrow 12-09-2008 10:07 AM

Creating occluder nodes in .ive file
 
Does anyone have any experience with using OSG's occluder nodes in Vizard? I'm working with some large poly count models derived from CAD data that is bringing the framerate down to a crawl, but much of the geometry is hidden behind bulkheads most of the time. If I can add some OccluderNodes where the bulkhead geometry is, I can hopefully speed up the framerate to something reasonable. Will Vizard actually use the OccluderNodes to cull geometry if they're present in the .ive file (I'm guessing yes, assuming that Vizard uses osgUtil::SceneView)

farshizzo 12-09-2008 10:40 AM

Vizard does not support dynamically creating OccluderNodes within the scripting environment. However, they should work fine if loaded from a file or plugin. The .osg exporter for 3dsmax supports OccluderNodes, and we have used those files with Vizard.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC