WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Textures Scrambled (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=2515)

lionfish 02-10-2010 02:05 AM

Textures Scrambled
 
2 Attachment(s)
I've another graphics problem (different computer this time - indeed the laptop I was having trouble with in the other thread doesn't have this problem).

On a couple of computers I've run my vizard environment on, I find the textures become horribly scrambled: there's gaps at the edges of tiles, and textures from one object are being drawn on another - such that one fades into the other texture as you approach (see attached images).

It often appears that the font becomes scrambled too.

I'm wondering if it's because I'm only using OpenGL 1.4? Is there a minimum OpenGL version that Vizard will be happy with?

The objects are exports from 3DSM (in .WRL format, using default export settings). The textures are in png and jpg formats - their dimensions aren't necessarily powers of 2.

The environment looks fine on a brand new laptop we recently bought. Other graphics applications have looked fine on this computer (e.g. Google Earth).

Thanks!

Mike.

System Details:
Graphics adapter: Intel(R) 945/G Express.
Driver: I've the latest version of the Intel graphics driver installed (6.14.10.4543)
OS: XP Professional (32 bit)
OpenGL: version 1.4
(features beyond 1.4 appear mostly unsupported).

OpenGL Extensions Viewer highlighted a few issues:
-No texture edge clamp support
(This feature adds clamping control to edge texel filtering. Some programs may not render textures correctly (black line on borders.) )
-No OpenGL Shading Language support
(This may break compatibility for applications using per pixel shading.)
-No Frame buffer object support
(This may break compatibility for applications using render to texture functions.)

lionfish 02-10-2010 09:04 AM

Tried on other computer...
 
Okay, I tried it out on the other computer.
The problem in textures occurs only when a new environment is loaded and the old objects are deleted from the scene (I'll post some code later!).

Thanks!!

Mike.


System info:
ATI Radeon HD 3470 - Dell Optiplex
OpenGL: Version: 2.1
OS: Windows XP
Driver: 6.14.10.6833

lionfish 02-11-2010 03:41 AM

Code
 
I add all the objects I create to a list (objectList):

#Create object
obj = viz.add(storefiles[storen])
# Put it in the right place
obj.rotate(0,1,0,rotation*90)

obj.scale(0.05,0.05,0.05) #scale to 1/20th of original size

obj.translate(x*7,0,y*7)

#Add it to the list
objectsList.append(obj)

when I want to "reset" the world, I remove all the objects from the list, with the belief that this should destroy them (is this true - I don't quite understand why, but I cop - is this because garbage collection deals with it?), based on thread:
http://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=2196

#loop through all the items, deleting them
for row in range(len(objectsList)):

objectsList[row].remove()

(thought to self: would deleting them in this order end up leaving some? as their index changes each time...)

Thanks for any help!
Mike.

lionfish 02-26-2010 01:42 AM

I "solved" this by not deleting the objects, but just moving to a different part of the environment - so they're out of view. Not optimal! But it works well enough for now.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC