WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   <node3d>.getPosition() returns [0,0,0] all the time... (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=1806)

DrunkenBrit 02-06-2009 09:53 AM

<node3d>.getPosition() returns [0,0,0] all the time...
 
Hi,

I create a simple scene in 3DSM, export as either WRL or IVE format. All the scene contains is a plane, a few boxes and a sphere.

All 3 shape objects are positioned away from the origin. When i try and get access to one of the shapes:

Code:

scene = viz.add(scene.ive')
scene.disable(viz.LIGHTING,'')

sphere = scene.getChild('Sphere01')

print "sphere pos: ", sphere.getPosition(viz.ABS_GLOBAL)

I've tried printing the positions of all other objects too and also tried using viz.REL_PARENT, viz.ABS_PARENT etc which also return [0,0,0]

Any reason why this is happening please?

Thanks,
DB

Jeff 02-06-2009 11:20 AM

If you right click on your scene node in the Vizard resources window and select properties, then expand the VIZARD_NODE you'll see your Sphere01 child. Expand that and you will see 'Sphere01-GEODE', which is what you want to use.
Code:

sphere = scene.getChild('Sphere01-GEODE')
print "sphere pos: ", sphere.getPosition(viz.ABS_GLOBAL)


DrunkenBrit 02-09-2009 12:53 AM

Thanks for your reply; that worked fine! Could you explain why extra characters are added to the end of the node name? Why does it work like this to get access to a child node:

Code:

dummy = scene.getChild('dummy')
Yet to print the position i need to add on '-GEODE'?

Thanks.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC