WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   display mode change, getting framerate (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=3756)

dcnieho 05-20-2011 09:45 PM

display mode change, getting framerate
 
Dear All,

I want to force a display mode change and exit out when errors occur, however I am having some trouble with querying the framerate the program runs at (viz.window.getFrameRate() always returns 0). Is the below a good way to do it?

Code:

# setup display mode
 viz.setDisplayMode(resolution[0], resolution[1], 32, refreshRate)
 viz.setMultiSample(multiSample)
 
 viz.go(mode)
 viz.window.setFullscreen()
 
 # check displayMode set succesfully
 if  viz.window.getFullscreenRectangle()[2] != resolution[0] or \
  viz.window.getFullscreenRectangle()[3] != resolution[1] or \
  viz.window.getFrameRate()    != refreshRate:
  print '\nRequested display mode: '+str(resolution[0])+'x'+str(resolution[1])+'@'+str(refreshRate)+', got: '+str(viz.window.getFullscreenRectangle()[2])+'x'+str(viz.window.getFullscreenRectangle()[3])+'@'+str(viz.window.getFrameRate())
  viz.quit()
  sys.exit(-1)

In a related note, if I put in some ridiculous displaymode settings, Vizard always nicely gives me '** ERROR: Failed to set requested display mode', highlighted in red. Is there any way for me to get my own error messages highlighted in red (the print in the above code could use it)?

Thank you very much!

Best,
Dee

dcnieho 05-20-2011 10:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dcnieho (Post 12587)
In a related note, if I put in some ridiculous displaymode settings, Vizard always nicely gives me '** ERROR: Failed to set requested display mode', highlighted in red. Is there any way for me to get my own error messages highlighted in red (the print in the above code could use it)?

To answer this part of my question, I just came across viz.logError(), nice!

Best,
Dee

farshizzo 05-23-2011 08:59 AM

The following code shows how to retrieve the refresh rate of the monitor:
Code:

refresh_rate = viz.getOption('viz.monitor.refresh_rate',type=int)

dcnieho 05-23-2011 07:32 PM

Ah thanks, that works!

I did try viz.getOption('viz.display.frequency',type=int) before, but that doesn't work as it simply reports the frequency you asked for (however ridiculous), not the current refresh rate... viz.getOption('viz.monitor.refresh_rate',type=int) does exactly what I hoped for.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:22 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC