WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   setHUD example (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=4154)

nabrahamson 02-28-2012 08:26 AM

setHUD example
 
I am working on an application that having a HUD would be a useful feature. Is there an existing example of how to set up and draw to a renderNode object that has been set up as a HUD? I have briefly searched the online articles and the examples provided with Vizard 4, but I haven't come across anything useful yet.

nabrahamson 02-28-2012 10:09 AM

It may also be possible that this is not what I want to do.

Alternatively, I would like to Draw another 3D object on the fly in the center of a new scene. Render that scene to a texture, and display that texture on a quad that is drawn orthographically.

farshizzo 03-01-2012 08:43 AM

You can use a sub window to render an arbitrary scene on top of the main window. Here is an example script that shows how. Let me know if I misunderstood your question.
Code:

import viz
import vizact
viz.go()

# Render model to main window
viz.add('dojo.osgb')

# Create sub window
window = viz.addWindow()
window.clearcolor(viz.GRAY)

# Uncomment this line to have a transparent background
#window.setClearMask(viz.GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT,viz.MASK_REMOVE)

# Create view/scene for sub window
view = viz.addView()
scene = viz.addScene()
view.setScene(scene)
window.setView(view)
view.setPosition([0,0,-2])
view.lookAt([0,0,0])

# Add model to sub window
model = viz.add('beachball.osgb',scene=scene)
model.addAction(vizact.spin(0,1,0,90))


nabrahamson 03-09-2012 07:34 AM

I think this is what I'm looking for. Thank you.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC