WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   position tracking (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=4471)

piyush 01-23-2013 08:49 AM

position tracking
 
i wrote following code for tracking position of ppt wand thru vrpn7 in vizard4
it is unable to track position but runs without any errors
import viz
viz.go()

piazza = viz.addChild('maze.osgb')
viz.MainView.move([3,2,8])

vrpn = viz.add('vrpn7.dle')
posTracker = vrpn.addTracker('PPT0@WORLDVIZ-PC',0)

#Connect to Intersense on local machine running Vizard
isense = viz.add('intersense.dle')
oriTracker = isense.addTracker()

#Create a 6DOF tracker by merging position data from PPT with
#Orientation data from Intersense
headTracker = viz.mergeLinkable(posTracker,oriTracker)

#Link viz.MainView with headTracker
headlink = viz.link(headTracker, viz.MainView)

#Once the user is facing PPT north pressing the 'r' key will align
#Intersense's coordinate system with PPT's coordinate system
vizact.onkeydown ('r', oriTracker.reset)
data=headlink.getData()
print data

Jeff 01-23-2013 11:35 AM

How many markers are being streamed from PPT? What is the marker number for the wand?

piyush 01-23-2013 10:25 PM

two markers... numbered 0 and 1

Jeff 01-24-2013 05:27 PM

It looks like your code is just getting a handle to VRPN sensor 0, which corresponds to marker 1 in PPT Studio.

If you add the following code to your script do you see the axis model move with the wand:
Code:

import vizshape
axis =vizshape.addAxes(length=0.1)
wandTracker = vrpn.addTracker('PPT0@WORLDVIZ-PC',1)
viz.link(wandTracker,axis)


piyush 01-24-2013 09:19 PM

No..it still doesnt work.
Why dont we first try for only one tracker.
Assist the required changes for only one tracker as a start, rest can b added in similar way

Jeff 01-25-2013 12:13 PM

Are you getting data from PPT?
Code:

import viz
import vizact

viz.go()

vrpn = viz.add('vrpn7.dle')
posTracker = vrpn.addTracker('PPT0@WORLDVIZ-PC',0)

def showData():
        print posTracker.getPosition()
       
vizact.ontimer(1,showData)


piyush 01-27-2013 09:44 PM

Response after working previous code
(46) from PPTO : no response from server for 10 sec
[0.0,0.0,0.0]
Vrpn error
Vrpn_endpoint :send error reports() no TCP connection

Jeff 01-28-2013 10:28 AM

Make sure the machines can ping each other. If that is successful, disable any firewall or virus scanner. That could block the communication.

piyush 01-28-2013 11:46 AM

Ping test already done...n all firewall and virus scanners are disabled

Jeff 01-29-2013 11:01 AM

Make sure the VRPN7 output plugin is loaded and Talk is enabled in PPT Studio. If that's set up correctly please contact support@worldviz.com and we'll help troubleshoot further.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC