WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   vizact.goto/move using ABS instead of local (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=2344)

hosier 11-02-2009 08:33 PM

vizact.goto/move using ABS instead of local
 
Is there any option to vizact.goto or vizact.move to have it use ABS coordinates? I know the documentation for move says it uses local coordinates, and from my testing it looks like goto does too.

Otherwise I supposed I'll just have to calculate the ABS coordinates myself before calling the goto?

Thanks.

Aaron

farshizzo 11-03-2009 09:03 AM

No, the vizact.goto action does not have this option. You will need to compute the coordinates yourself and pass it to the action.

hosier 11-03-2009 01:19 PM

Is there a function in Vizard where I could take absolute coordinates x,y,z and it would calculate what the local coordinates would be for an object? My geometry is a little rusty and while I could probably work this out after a while, if Vizard had something that could do the calculations, that would be great.

Thanks.

Aaron

farshizzo 11-03-2009 02:53 PM

Just have Vizard perform the calculation for you:
Code:

curPos = node.getPosition() #Save current position
node.setPosition(desiredPos,viz.ABS_GLOBAL) #Apply desired absolute pos
gotoPos = node.getPosition() #Get computed local pos
node.setPosition(curPos) #Restore position



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC