WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   sensor or not sensor? (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=3666)

nige777 03-29-2011 04:03 AM

sensor or not sensor?
 
Hi all,

In my project I am using an RTK-GPS unit and a separate compass module - so far I have been able to to connect to them using pyserial and apply transforms to the GPS data from within a Vizard script - all good there :D. However, I am now wondering if I am approaching this all wrong and should actually be using a sensor plugin for this purpose, so that I can use the functionality provided by through viz.link for offsetting etc.??

Am I creating more problems for myself down-the-line by not using a sensor? Do I run the risk of introducing problematic lag within my project by using a python script to access these devices?

The one problem I may have is my utter lack of programming know-how in anything but python, and a bit of javascript :o.

So I throw it out there - sensor or not sensor??

Any advise regarding this would be very gratefully received as my head is quite sore from all the scratching :rolleyes:.

Thanks In Advance


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC