WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   <viewpoint>.link (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=97)

david 12-12-2003 01:21 AM

<viewpoint>.link
 
Hi,

I tried using the link function for a viewpoint doing what is in the help (something like: myview.link(mysensor))
but I get a error message stating that link() requires 3 arguments (2 given). What is the 3rd argument?

David

farshizzo 12-12-2003 10:34 AM

Hi David,

Just pass in 0 as the second argument. In the current version you don't need to do this, you might have an older version.

david 12-12-2003 12:55 PM

need more explanations
 
Thanks for your answer Farshizzo but I still don't understand.

I ran the following lines:

headTrack = viz.addsensor('is600')
#is600 is a custom plug-in that can track two sensors
headView = viz.add(viz.VIEWPOINT)
headView.link(headTrack,0)

And I got the error
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "", line 2, in ?
File "test_attach_other_viewpoint.py", line 13, in ?
headView.link(headTrack,0)
File "C:\Program Files\Vizard20\viz.py", line 1354, in link
_ipcSend(_VIZ_LINKVIEW,self.id,sensor,id,'',mask,0 ,0,0)
TypeError: function takes exactly 8 arguments (9 given)

Then I tried putting the mask argument (0) first and tried the following script. But apparently the HEAD_LOOK vector is not updating, and I only get the vectors [0,0,1,0] over and over again.

import viz
viz.go()

headTrack = viz.addsensor('is600')
headTrack.command(11)
# Uses only 3 dof to prevent drifting of the scene
# To switch back to 6 dof use command(1)
handTrack = viz.addsensor('is600')
handTrack.command(11)

headView = viz.add(viz.VIEWPOINT)
headView.link(0,headTrack)

handView = viz.add(viz.VIEWPOINT)
handView.link(0,handTrack)

def test(t):
vect = headView.get(viz.HEAD_LOOK)
print 'headLook',vect
vect = handView.get(viz.HEAD_LOOK)
print 'handLook',vect
viz.starttimer(0,3)

viz.starttimer(0)
viz.callback(viz.TIMER_EVENT,'test')

david 12-12-2003 12:59 PM

BTW
 
I checked my version of vizard and it seems to be the most up to date... 2.12

farshizzo 12-12-2003 01:04 PM

Hi David,

Thanks for including the error message, there is a typo in viz.py. The following line:
Code:

_ipcSend(_VIZ_LINKVIEW,self.id,sensor,id,'',mask,0,0,0)
should be changed to:
Code:

_ipcSend(_VIZ_LINKVIEW,self.id,sensor.id,'',mask,0,0,0)
viz.py is in the main vizard directory. After you change this line, save the file and restart vizard. Your problem should be fixed then. Sorry for all the trouble.

david 12-12-2003 03:14 PM

It seems to be working. Thanks!
I still have to test with the sensors connected, but it should work. At least I do not get a compilation error

David


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC