WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   How to wirte words on a BillBoard? (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=1690)

znchb 10-25-2008 08:35 PM

How to wirte words on a BillBoard?
 
:confused:Hi, Is there any tutorial to show me how to wirte words on a BillBoard & the words can be changed.

such as, when we click the keyboard, it will be changed to some other words that we already prepared.

znchb 10-26-2008 05:32 PM

attached picture; Attach words directly
 
I just know hot to attach a picture that contains words to a 'BillBoard' ,

Eg.
self.billboard2 = viz.add('c:\\VirtualWorlds\\table\\billboard.3DS')
self.slide = viz.add('c:\\VirtualWorlds\\table\\slide2.jpg')#.j pg contain words
self.billboard2.texture(self.slide)

but not show words on 'BillBoard' directly, Is there some one help me and give me an simple example for attaching words directly?
Thanks a lot.

Jeff 10-26-2008 06:36 PM

You can make a text3d object a child of a texture quad. Here, the text object is slighly offset the quad in the z direction so it can be seen clearly.
Press the spacebar to change the message

Code:

import viz

viz.go()

# Create surface to wrap the texture on
quad = viz.addTexQuad()
quad.setPosition([0, 1.5, 3]) #put quad in view

# Wrap white texture on quad
quad.texture(viz.WHITE)

#create text object and make it a child of the texture quad
text = viz.addText( 'message', quad )
text.setScale(.1,.1,.1)
text.alignment(viz.TEXT_CENTER_CENTER)
text.color(viz.BLACK)
text.setPosition(0,0,-.01)

#press space bar to change message
vizact.onkeydown(' ', text.message, "new message")


znchb 10-26-2008 09:13 PM

Whether we can do like this? see the & the attached files
 
#some problems exist. if I use quad = viz.addTexQuad(), then I can not add #the 'billboard' to the scene. how to figure out this? Appreciate

import viz

viz.go()

####### Create surface to wrap the texture on
#quad = viz.addTexQuad()
#quad.setPosition([0, 1.5, 3]) #put quad in view
#quad.texture(viz.WHITE)
########create text object and make it a child of the texture quad
#text = viz.addText( 'message', quad )
#text.setScale(.1,.1,.1)
#text.alignment(viz.TEXT_CENTER_CENTER)
#text.color(viz.BLACK)
#text.setPosition(0,0,-.01)

#####press space bar to change message
#vizact.onkeydown(' ', text.message, "new message")

#####Whether we can do like this: ???
main = viz.add('c:\\VirtualWorlds\\table\\poolTableScene. 3DS') # the main scene
billboard = main.getChild('billboards') # object, named 'billboards', component of 'poolTableScene.3DS'

#quad = billboard.addTexQuad()

quad.setPosition([0, 1.5, 3])

quad.texture(viz.WHITE)

text = viz.addText('message', quad)
text.setScale(0.2,0.2,0.2)
text.alignment(viz.TEXT_CENTER_CENTER)
text.color(viz.BLACK)
text.setPosition(0,0,-.01)

vizact.onkeydown(' ', text.message, "new message")

znchb 10-26-2008 09:27 PM

the attachment file
 
1 Attachment(s)
the scene file

Jeff 10-27-2008 09:50 AM

You can make the text3d object a child of the billboard.

Code:

import viz

viz.go()

billboard = viz.add('billboard.3ds', pos = [0,0,5])

#create text object and make it a child of the billboard
text = viz.addText( 'message', billboard )
text.setScale(.1,.1,.1)
text.alignment(viz.TEXT_CENTER_CENTER)
text.color(viz.BLACK)
text.setPosition(0,1.7,-.05)

#press space bar to change message
vizact.onkeydown(' ', text.message, "new message")

Depending on what you want to do with this billboard it might be better to create textures with different text in them and swap the textures on the billboard

By the way, we recommend exporting 3ds models into Vizards native file format (.ive/.osg). It supports baked lighting and other advanced features.
You can download the exporter for Max from our downloads page.

znchb 10-30-2008 12:26 AM

It works
 
Oh, it works. Thanks

you are genious!

znchb 11-02-2008 07:00 AM

How to use 'time function' to control the appearance of balls
 
# I want to show balls on the screen one by one, not all the balls appear immediately.
:confused:# could you please help me to use the time function to control it. Appreciate.

import viz
viz.go()

OriginalBall = viz.add('ball.wrl')

for x in [0, 0.2, 0.4, 0.6, 0.8]: ## nested loop
for y in [0, 0.3, 0.6, 0.9]:
ball = OriginalBall.copy() ##use the copy() to save cpu resource
ball.translate(2+x, 2+y, 2)
ball.setScale(0.02,0.02,0.02)

znchb 11-02-2008 07:04 AM

sorry to make a mistake.
I suppose to post it as a new Question Topic.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2018 WorldViz LLC