WorldViz User Forum

WorldViz User Forum (https://forum.worldviz.com/index.php)
-   Vizard (https://forum.worldviz.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Creating InfoPanel on screen with HMD vizconnect (https://forum.worldviz.com/showthread.php?t=6202)

seowen1 10-19-2018 09:34 AM

Creating InfoPanel on screen with HMD vizconnect
 
Hi there,

I'm trying to create an InfoPanel from the default vizinfo.InfoPanel class. It runs fine in desktop mode, but with an HMD vizconnect running the InfoPanel is being drawn twice on the monitor. Almost as if the InfoPanel is being rendered in stereo mode, and the rest of the scene is being rendered with the left eye on the monitor.

The purpose of this is to create an "Instructor View" on the monitor with controls that are only visible to the instructor.

Jeff 10-24-2018 09:21 PM

Can you attach the vizconnect file you are using and example code used in Vizard to add the panel?

seowen1 10-25-2018 12:49 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Sure thing. I have done so here. I deleted all the project specific stuff, so hopefully it runs for you okay. I want to see just one InfoPanel on the monitor.

Jeff 10-27-2018 08:52 PM

The mirrored window on the monitor displays correctly in mono, right? If you run the following code with your vizconnect file, do you see the panel rendered once?

Code:

import viz
import vizconnect
import vizinfo

vizconnect.go(vizconnect_config_vive.py)
viz.addChild('piazza.osgb')
vizinfo.InfoPanel('Panel Test')


seowen1 10-29-2018 06:05 AM

1 Attachment(s)
No, I am still seeing it rendered twice. I've uploaded a screenshot of what I'm seeing when I run your code.

Thank you for looking into this, it's really becoming a problem.

Jeff 10-30-2018 06:05 AM

Do you see the panel rendered twice when running the following code:

Code:

import viz
import vizinfo
import steamvr

viz.go()

hmd = steamvr.HMD()
viz.link(hmd.getSensor(), viz.MainView)
hmd.setMonoMirror(True)

viz.addChild('piazza.osgb')
vizinfo.InfoPanel('Panel Test')


seowen1 10-30-2018 07:12 AM

Yes, I still see two panels on the monitor view. I'm using Vizard 5.8, so I'm unsure if there is any difference in our steamvr.dle plugins.

seowen1 11-01-2018 06:27 AM

Any updates on this? Looking for a quick solution. Can't seem to work through the issue myself. Thanks!

Jeff 11-06-2018 08:32 PM

Add the following line of code to render the panel only once:

Code:

panel.renderToEye(viz.LEFT_EYE)

seowen1 11-07-2018 07:55 AM

That did the trick! Thank you!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC