WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2012, 08:38 AM
nabrahamson nabrahamson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 36
VRPN tracker, detecting device.

Hey Vizard gurus, I have a quick question about your VRPN interface. I have working code using the VRPN tracker with a kinect device. What I want to do is to detect if a kinect is plugged into the computer, and disable the kinect interface if no kinect is found. I see when I run my script the following message if the kinect is not plugged in:

Code:
VRPN Error
 (18) from Tracker0: No response from server for >= 10 seconds
Is there a way to programatically detect this error so that I can switch to a different user interface if the Kinect isn't plugged in?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2012, 08:55 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
The vrpn objects have a getSampleNumber() and getSampleTime() method for retrieving the number/time of the last received sample. You could setup a timer to check these values and trigger an event if they haven't changed for over 10 seconds.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2012, 09:17 AM
nabrahamson nabrahamson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by farshizzo View Post
The vrpn objects have a getSampleNumber() and getSampleTime() method for retrieving the number/time of the last received sample. You could setup a timer to check these values and trigger an event if they haven't changed for over 10 seconds.
I've considered this route, but since they don't trigger until the kinect detects another user, it's not really the solution I am going for. In this scenario, the kinect can be plugged in and communicating with FAAST, but there is no user in front of it. The result is a false positive since the two functions mentioned will return 0 and 0.0 even when there is a kinect plugged in and recognized by the system.

Is there a way to catch what vizard is printing to the console? If I had the ability to do that, then I could watch for VRPN Errors, that are being printed out.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-23-2012, 11:01 AM
farshizzo farshizzo is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2,849
That error message is printed deep within the VRPN source. I'm not aware of any way to programmatically detect it, other than modifying the VRPN source.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-24-2013, 02:03 PM
pankaj bansal pankaj bansal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 14
@nabrahamson

Hey I want to ask if you were able to do this. I also want to do the same and have not find a solution yet..

regards
Pankaj bansal
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
vrpn

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VRPN quaternion conversion from PPT from Intersense InertiaCube willemsn Precision Position Tracker (PPT) 0 07-20-2011 01:59 PM
VRPN info sdiverdi Precision Position Tracker (PPT) 5 01-16-2011 12:00 PM
The problem of tracker using via VRPN _kj_ Vizard 2 08-13-2009 12:03 AM
Does the vrpn7.dle tracker plug-in clear the udp buffer? michaelrepucci Vizard 2 09-19-2008 10:22 AM
swapPos and swapQuat with VRPN michaelrepucci Vizard 1 07-29-2008 11:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2023 WorldViz LLC