WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2011, 03:55 PM
Lithium Lithium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
Exporting textures from Sketchup to Vizard

Hi,
I am exporting a simple model from SketchUp into Vizard ( viz.add(file.dae) ).
The basic shapes look fine but the textures do not load in Vizard .The output reports warnings like this:
"Warning: could not find file "/Z:/PEOPLE/Lilith/showermodel2/texture9.jpg"
processTexture(./ID9)"
This is the correct pathname for the jpg, though, and there seems to be nothing wrong with the jpg itself.
The only things I can think of are the extra slash before the drive name, and the fact that they are forward- rather than back- slashes, but I don't think either of those are the issue.

Does anyone know what is going on and how to solve this problem? Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-29-2011, 04:12 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,305
Have you tried placing the .dae file and the texture folder at the same level as shown in the Loading the model in Vizard section of this article?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-2011, 05:03 PM
Lithium Lithium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
Yes, the .dae file and the folder containing the textures are in the same level, same folder. I think I followed everything according to the article.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-2011, 11:00 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,305
Can you upload the model here so I can take a look?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-30-2011, 12:38 PM
Lithium Lithium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
Sure, the upload reference code is 621666.
Thanks for your time!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-30-2011, 03:33 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,305
When I loaded the model the textures were there. What is the version number of Vizard 3 that you are using? Check that by going to Help -> About Vizard.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-2011, 10:24 AM
Lithium Lithium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
That seems to have been the problem! I upgraded to the most recent version of Vizard3 and the textures are there now.
Thanks for your help!

Last edited by Lithium; 07-05-2011 at 10:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
.dae, collada, sketchup, texture, textures

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vizard 4 Beta Testing farshizzo Announcements 0 02-01-2011 11:46 AM
Exporting Mult-Sub Obj Textures from references in Max using IVE/OSG shivanangel Vizard 3 02-10-2010 02:09 PM
Vizard tech tip: Using the Python Imaging Library (PIL) Jeff Vizard 0 03-23-2009 11:13 AM
Max -> Vizard, Two Sided Textures shivanangel Vizard 5 12-04-2008 04:15 AM
Exporting from Maya to Vizard jfreeman Vizard 2 06-30-2005 02:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2014 WorldViz LLC