WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-04-2017, 03:18 AM
mms mms is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 6
view in view

Hi all,
I would like to program an augmented reality HUD. I added an object, e.g. an arrow, to my world, but I want it to be only visible, if it is in a specific area of my view. My idea is to add this "ar" objects to an other scene and show this scene in a specific area in my view. I tried this with a subwindow, but i couldn't set the view of the subwindow to show the exact same view like the area that is covered by the subwindow. Is there perhaps an other way to solve this issue?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-05-2017, 02:13 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,324
Can you explain further what you mean by a 'specific area of the view'?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-05-2017, 07:11 AM
mms mms is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 6
I think about a rectangle with normalized size [0.2,0.2] and its centre in the middle of the view. The “ar” object should be visible if it is inside this rectangle, otherwise it should be invisible.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-05-2017, 10:39 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,324
Use the window.pickRect command to determine which objects are within a rectangular area of the window. Then turn the object's visibility on or off.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-06-2017, 01:47 AM
mms mms is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 6
Thank you for your help. Unfortunately, I forgot to note that I want to use this augmented reality HUD in a “Cave Manual Configuration”. Could I use world coordinates to set the position of this rectangle? I want this rectangle to move if the “headtracker” detects movement. So, if I turn my head it should be able to move in the world and thereby be always in the middle of my view (via glasses). I did this already with objects and texquads.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-09-2017, 04:17 AM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,324
You could try calculating the intersection point on the screen where the user is looking based on their position and orientation and the screen placement. Normalize the coordinates of the intersection point that is in meters using the screen dimensions. Then calculate the rectangle bounds from the normalized results and pass that to the pickRect command.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-19-2017, 02:37 AM
mms mms is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 6
The window.pickRect command will return all nodes that either fully or partially appear within the area, but I only want the nodes that are fully within this area. Is there a command for this issue?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
multiple, scene, view, viewpoint

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
animation path problem - coordinates not resetting jelly Vizard 7 04-26-2016 10:45 AM
View nlfrnassimi Vizard 0 03-17-2009 02:01 AM
View nlfrnassimi Vizard 4 03-12-2009 05:25 AM
problem with stereo mode shivanangel Vizard 3 10-17-2006 09:58 AM
keeping a 3d object in front of the view tavaksai Vizard 1 07-07-2004 09:33 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2014 WorldViz LLC