WorldViz User Forum  

Go Back   WorldViz User Forum > Vizard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-30-2014, 01:52 PM
vicmcg9 vicmcg9 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Question 3DS Max to Vizard osbg Scaling Issue

Hi,

I've imported an osgb model of a squash racket from 3DS Max into Vizard, but my scale is all off. I've tried fixing the scale within 3DS Max by going to 'Customize' -> 'Units Setup' -> 'System Unit Setup' as described in the guide linked below by Vizard and re-exported with no luck. I have gone through and made sure all other options and menu settings in 3DS Max were to Vizard's exporting specifications. I've also tried fixing the model with the scaling function built in Vizard, but that quickly turned out to be too much of a hassle since there is no easy factor to scale by.

This model needs to link up perfectly to a motion captured physical racket for an experiment, so getting the scaling correct is really important. Has anyone else encountered this problem?

guide: http://docs.worldviz.com/vizard/Crea...els_basics.htm
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-30-2014, 02:48 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,378
Download and install the latest OSG exporter for Max from our website if you don't have that. In the exporter options under Miscellaneous, set Convert units to Meters before you export your model.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-02-2014, 09:42 AM
Pip Pip is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Hi Jeff,

I am experiencing the same issue. I have tried every combination of Unit in max and Conversion in the exporter that sounded at least somehow "right", but it didn't help. I ended up either having an object 10 times taller than I wanted it to be, or 10 times smaller.

Do you know any other possibility?

vicmcg9, did you find any solution for this?

Thanks for your support
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-03-2014, 12:31 PM
Jeff Jeff is offline
WorldViz Team Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,378
Try creating a simple object in Max such as a box and verify the dimensions. The only thing you should need to do is export the model with Convert units set to Meters in the OSG exporter. Load the model in Inspector and the check the dimensions there. The status bar at the bottom shows the bounding box dimensions of the current selection. Does that work correctly for you?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3ds max, model, osgb, osgb export, scaling

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vizard automatically scaling image to an aspect ratio of 1:1 Frank Verberne Vizard 3 01-13-2014 08:48 AM
Vizard 4 Beta Testing farshizzo Announcements 0 02-01-2011 11:46 AM
Vizard tech tip: Using the Python Imaging Library (PIL) Jeff Vizard 0 03-23-2009 11:13 AM
Scaling and Rotating in Vizard Vinicius Lima Vizard 1 07-25-2007 09:20 AM
vizard 2.5 compatability issue shai Vizard 3 08-10-2005 04:35 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2014 WorldViz LLC