PDA

View Full Version : Tk with Vizard


farshizzo
06-23-2003, 10:27 AM
This thread explains how to use Tk with Vizard

Step 1:

Download the following file to your computer:

tkinter.zip (http://www.worldviz.com/download/files/tkinter.zip)

Step 2:

Open the file with Winzip or a similar program. Extract the contents of the zip file to [VIZARD_PATH]\bin\ where [VIZARD_PATH] is the location of your Vizard installation (usually C:\Program Files\Vizard).

That's it, Tk should now work with Vizard. If you have any problems please post them here.

-- Farshid

sled
06-23-2003, 12:08 PM
Thank you for your help , but it still can not work,the message as following.
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<string>", line 1, in ?
File "C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\Desktop\gv10.weigang\weigan gGUI.
py", line 2, in ?
from tkFileDialog import *
File "C:\Program Files\Vizard\bin\lib\tkFileDialog.py", line 39, in ?
from tkCommonDialog import Dialog
File "C:\Program Files\Vizard\bin\lib\tkCommonDialog.py", line 15, in ?
from Tkinter import *
File "C:\Program Files\Vizard\bin\lib\Tkinter.py", line 35, in ?
import _tkinter # If this fails your Python may not be configured for Tk
ImportError: DLL load failed: The specified module could not be found.

sled
06-23-2003, 12:16 PM
my file is attached, it works properly in pythonwin, but when I invoke some viz method , it 's dead.

farshizzo
06-23-2003, 12:34 PM
Hi,

I tested out your script and it worked fine on my machine. Did you try restarting Vizard after you copied the tkinter files to your computer?

-- Farshid

farshizzo
06-23-2003, 12:38 PM
Hi again,

I just realized that I made a mistake. There are two files that are copied to the [VIZARD_PATH]\bin\lib directory that should go to the [VIZARD_PATH]\bin\DLLs directory instead. The two files are:

tk83.dll
tcl83.dll


Just take those files out of the lib directory and put them in the DLLs directory, then restart Vizard. Sorry about that.

-- Farshid

sled
06-23-2003, 04:13 PM
thanks a lot and sorry to bother you again, the tk gui works well in vizard now , but when I begin to invoke the viz.add(...) by click the start button,it shows err message:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "<string>", line 1, in ?
File "weigangGUI.py", line 58, in ?
root = Tk()
File "C:\Program Files\Vizard\bin\lib\Tkinter.py", line 1483, in __init__
baseName = os.path.basename(sys.argv[0])
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'argv'

farshizzo
06-23-2003, 04:21 PM
Hi,

This is a problem we've encountered before and has already been resolved in the latest version. At the top of your script you need to issue the following commands:

import sys
sys.argv = [''] (Note: those are two single quotes)

That should do it, but please let me know if it doesn't work.

-- Farshid

sled
06-23-2003, 07:14 PM
oh, it works well, thanks a lot.

softscan
02-04-2004, 09:32 PM
I have just installed ActiveStates PythonWin IDE whic goes into C:/Python2.3 by deault.Will this work OK with VIzard or do I need to set paths. If so what?
HOpe this is OK in thi thread.
Thanks
Johnny K

farshizzo
02-05-2004, 10:41 AM
Hi,

You will need to add the following directories to your python path in order to get Vizard working:

[Vizard20]/
[Vizard20]/python/

That should be it. Are you planning on using Tk?

jrodman
09-10-2004, 01:02 PM
I had tk working with Vizard, and at some point in the last few months it stopped working. I tried everything suggested in this thread.

It gives the following error message:
File "C:\Program Files\Vizard20\bin\lib\Tkinter.py", line 35, in ?
import _tkinter # If this fails your Python may not be configured for Tk
ImportError: DLL load failed: The specified module could not be found.

farshizzo
09-10-2004, 01:40 PM
Hi,

Try downloading and reinstalling the tkinter.zip file. Vizard recently switched from python 2.2 to 2.3, and the tkinter files were not updated. Let me know if this fixes it.

jrodman
09-15-2004, 11:16 AM
I tried the new tkinter.zip file. It still gives the same error.

Any other ideas?

farshizzo
09-15-2004, 11:25 AM
Hi,

You need to uninstall the previous version of Tk first. Delete the following files from the C:\Program Files\Vizard20\bin\lib directory:

Canvas.py
Dialog.py
FileDialog.py
FixTk.py
ScrolledText.py
SimpleDialog.py
Tix.py
tkColorChooser.py
tkCommonDialog.py
Tkconstants.py
Tkdnd.py
tkFileDialog.py
tkFont.py
Tkinter.py
tkMessageBox.py
tkSimpleDialog.py
turtle.py

Also, delete the following directories:

C:\Program Files\Vizard20\bin\lib\tcl8.3
C:\Program Files\Vizard20\bin\lib\tk8.3

jrodman
07-11-2007, 01:45 PM
tkinter is not working for me with Vizard 3.0.

I'm getting the same error message as before:
from Tkinter import *
File "C:\Program Files\WorldViz\Vizard30\bin\lib\lib-tk\Tkinter.py", line 38, in ?
import _tkinter # If this fails your Python may not be configured for Tk
ImportError: No module named _tkinter

It looks like Vizard upgraded from Python 2.3 to 2.4. Does that mean we need new tkinter files?

farshizzo
07-11-2007, 01:48 PM
Hi,

Have a look at the Vizard downloads page. Under the "Vizard 3.0 Addons" section there is an installer that adds the necessary Tkinter files to your Vizard 3.0 installation.